Celebrations International Travel Blog

Calgon, Take Me Away….Doesn’t Matter Where!

Posted on: September 10, 2009

I’ve had a number of my own “Calgon Moments” this week, as I’m sure most people out there can relate to:  Sometimes you just feel like you need to get away!

The last time I actually made good on my quest to get away from it all, I booked my family on a last-minute Disney cruise to the Western Caribbean (7 nights on the Disney Magic, round-trip from Port Canaveral, Florida).   No kidding, I got on the phone and told the booking agent “It’s for me; I really need to get out of here.  Can you help me?”  Less than two weeks later, we flew to Orlando and set sail on a much-needed vacation.

When I’m on vacation, I want to be completely relaxed, which can be hard when you have Internet connectivity (temptation to check e-mail, look up stuff, or get on Twitter), a cell phone that might ring, or any other “techno-gadget”.  While technology can be a great way to keep in touch, I’m amongst those who tend to find myself enslaved to it.

That’s why, when I’m looking for total relaxation, I prefer cruising over other types of vacations.   Shortly after the ship sets sail, I turn my cell off because I’m about to lose reception anyway (no satellite phone for me, thanks!), and if I really want to check email or surf the Web, I can, but I’m much less likely to do so when I have to pay for Internet access.  And calling home when we’re on a cruise?  There are a number of ways to do that while the ship is in port that are generally less expensive than calling from the ship if I really need to.

I can’t think of a better way to get away from it all–literally–than on a cruise.   Cruise ships can take you just about anywhere in the world, and the cruise lines are offering excellent deals these days.   When you take into account that everything is included in your cruise fare:  accommodations, meals, activities, entertainment, children’s programs, and transportation between destinations–it might even be a better deal than staying home!

For your next “Calgon Moment”:  Here’s to your cruise vacation getaway!

Visit the Celebrations International Travel Web site for more information on oceanliner cruises and river and specialty cruises.

Leave a Reply

About Us


This is blog based on the experiences and interests of travel agency owners Adrienne and Agni Mitra. Through our blog entries, we will share our travel experience and expertise. We will also have other entries of interest to inspire your travels.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 13,418 hits
