Celebrations International Travel Blog

Life Is Not A Dress Rehearsal!

Posted on: September 27, 2010

That is one of my favorite sayings that has stuck with me since I was a teenager.

How many times have you thought to yourself, “One day I’m gonna….”  Whatever it is, you owe it to yourself to make it happen.  Otherwise, life has a way of just passing us by.

I often recount to my clients the story of how I had the best possible view, standing on a street corner outside Buckingham Palace to watch the changing of the guard.   But the guards marched in and turned around, then my dad tapped me on the shoulder and said “It’s time to go back to the bus.”  Upset as a was at having to miss the rest of the spectacle, I vowed one day to return and see everything “properly,” or at least the way I wanted to.  I haven’t returned there since, although my travels have taken me around the world.  Unfortunately, the experience I once had is no longer possible, as the changing of the guard now takes place behind the palace gates.  (It is still visible to the public, but is obstructed by the gates.)

The moral to the story?  “Someday” isn’t enough.  Even if you may not know when it will be possible, start planning your travels.  Dream a little, do your research into the places you want to see and the things you want to do.  Then book your trip far enough in the future to allow you to save up vacation time and money.  Take this important step so you’ll be more likely to actually take the trip rather than just dream about it.  Worried that you might need to cancel if something important comes up?  Travel insurance is a great way to protect the investment you make in your vacation.

If you can’t afford to splurge on an expensive vacation, don’t worry.  Leave it to the travel pros like myself to help you find ways to save.  It’s the experience that counts, right?  Don’t feel that you have to compromise on the memories you will create for yourself and your loved ones.

Last but not least, take your trip, and enjoy it!  After all, life is not a dress rehearsal!

Visit my agency:  Celebrations International Travel….Celebrating Life Through Travel

Leave a Reply

About Us


This is blog based on the experiences and interests of travel agency owners Adrienne and Agni Mitra. Through our blog entries, we will share our travel experience and expertise. We will also have other entries of interest to inspire your travels.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Celebrations on Twitter

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 13,713 hits
